We are pretty new on the market garden scene, so I thought that answering this questionnaire would be a fun way to get to know me better.

We have an about us page, but this is a bit more informal and fun!

If you’re into it, I would love to hear your answers to some of these questions in the comments below!

Let’s begin!

Do you have any nicknames?

My full name is Katherine, but everybody calls me Kathy. Does that count?

Are you named after anyone?


Do you have any siblings?

There are four of us kids in total. I have an older sister and brother, as well as a twin brother. 

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in glorious Centreton, Ontario.

What activities did you do in high school?

There were activities in high school??

Where did you go to college?

I went to The Michener Institute for Applied Health Sciences in Toronto.

What activities did you do in college?

I played intramural volleyball for a short period of time, but mostly spent my time enjoying beverages with friends!

What did you study in college?

I studied Medical Laboratory Sciences.

What was your first job out of college?

I was lucky and had a co-op placement at a hospital in Toronto while in college, where I was hired after I graduated.

What kind of music do you like?

I grew up in the ‘90s and I like ‘90s era alternative as well as classic rock. Greenday and Bon Jovi, anyone?

What’s one hobby you would like to take up?

We lived in Alberta for five years, and I fell in love with the mountains. I would love to learn how to boulder and rock climb with our kids, so when we visit again we can climb together.

questionnaire kids bouldering

What did you think you wanted to be when you grew up?

I never really knew what I wanted to be when I grew up as a kid.  I just wanted it to be something that had to do with dogs.

What’s the biggest project on your to-do list right now?

Besides starting a market garden, I want to paint our trailer, so preparing for that is my biggest project right now.

Do you have any irrational fears?

When sitting on the toilet, an alligator comes through the pipes and bites me.

Have you ever traveled outside the country? If so, where?

Yes, to my most favourite place in the world, Ireland. I can’t wait to go back!

When is your next vacation and where are you going?

Ha! That’s a good question. Hopefully, we will go back to Ireland soon, but more likely the east coast of Canada because I have never been there before and we will be staying within our own country for a while before venturing to others.

Do you speak any other languages?

Nope, just English.

What’s one talent you wished you had?

I wish I could move my eyebrows independently. My son can do it, and I have to admit, I am a little jealous!

Declan Eyebrows

What’s something you wish you could do one more time?

I would love to hike in the mountains again. The views are amazing, especially after having to earn them! I hope to do that more than one more time in the future.

Kathy on top of a mountain

If you weren’t in your current job, what would you want to be doing?

Is professional hiker a thing? I love hiking with my dog and being able to turn that into a living would be amazing.

If you are a grower or small business owner, consider yourself tagged. I’d love for you to do it too. It’s a fun way to get to know you a little better!


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Our Community!

Subscribe to our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates happening around our farm. For all the locals, you will be the first to know what veggies we will be offering each week and which markets we will be at.

You have successfully joined!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This